wow! bye bye Debra

Debra Medina is in the Republican primary for Texas Governor and has been making some progress in the polls against Governor Perry and Senator Hutchison. There was even some talk based on recent polling that she could finish second ahead of the Senator.

I think that talk will be finished after this morning’s appearance on Glenn Beck’s radio show. As Glenn Beck says at the end of this clip 9/11 trutherism is “the fastest road back to 4%”.

stick a fork in her, she’s done:

UPDATE: here is her campaign’s response:

I was asked a question on the Glenn Beck show today regarding my thoughts on the so-called 9/11 truth movement. I have never been involved with the 9-11 truth movement, and there is no doubt in my mind that Muslim terrorists flew planes into those buildings on 9/11. I have not seen any evidence nor have I ever believed that our government was involved or directed those individuals in any way. No one can deny that the events on 9-11 were a tragedy for all Americans and especially those families who lost loved ones.
The question surprised me because it’s not relevant to this race or the issues facing Texans. This campaign has always been about private property rights and state sovereignty. It is focused on the issues facing Texans. It is not a vehicle for the 9-11 truth movement or any other group.
The real underlying question here, though, is whether or not people have the right to question our government. I think the fact that people are even asking questions on this level gets to the incredible distrust career politicians have fostered by so clearly taking their direction from special interests instead of the people, whether it’s Rick Perry and the his HPV mandate or Kay Hutchison and voting for the bank bailout. It is absolutely the right and duty of a free people to question their government. Texas does not need another politician who tells you what you want to hear, then violates your liberties and steals your property anyway. I fully expect to be questioned and to be held accountable as Governor, and that’s the underlying issue here: should people be questioning their government. And the answer is yes, they should be.

The question from Glenn Beck was: “Do you believe the government was in any way involved in the bringing down of the World Trade Centers on 9/11?”

The only response to this question by someone with genuine aspirations of being Governor of Texas is a firm and perhaps indignant “NO!”

Medina’s actual response was “I think some very good questions have been raised in that regard,” Medina replied. “There are some very good arguments, and I think the American people have not seen all of the evidence there, so I have not taken a position on that.”

It doesn’t matter how surprised she was or how off topic she thinks the question is. The answer she gave Glenn Beck is unacceptable outside of a small fringe.

UPDATE II:

just let her keep talking.

5 Responses

  1. I just now heard this on the radio. Was it a rebroadcast? Anyway, I didn’t know she was in the running. But, I guess she is out now. The guys on talk radio were even wondering if her comments were designed to put her out of the race. Deliberate on her part. what do you think?

  2. Depends on when the Glenn Beck radio show runs in your market. It actually happened this morning.

    I think she definitely was in it to win it. I think the reason she didn’t just say “no” was because she knows a good chunk of her base believes that 9/11 was an inside job and she didn’t want to offend them. She says in her press release that the question was “a surprise”. I don’t care how surprised I am by a question, if I get asked in any context if our government had anything to do with 9/11, then my immediate and indignant response is “of course not!”

    Her answer was “I don’t have all of the evidence there Glenn so I’m not in a place, I have not been out publicly questioning that,” Medina said. “I think some very good questions have been raised in that regard, there are some very good arguments and I think the American people have not seen all the evidence there, so I have not taken a position on that.”

  3. What do you think of her idea of getting rid of property taxes and going to a consumption tax instead?

  4. interesting and out of the box, but probably not a good idea. you would think that she would be in favor of the most control by the most local governmental unit possible. That would fit with her overall ideological thrust.

    Why she wants to have a statewide sales tax increase replace local property taxes makes no sense to me. Why send all the money to the central government in Austin so that the legislature can dole it back out? Local school boards and City councils and County commissioners are a lot closer to and more accountable to the people paying in the money.

    I appreciate her desire to unshackle property ownership from a continuing burden, but I think it is inconsistent with the bigger picture of maximizing the effective use of the dollars.

    politically, it should be a nonstarter once people in apartments figure out that everything they buy is about to get a lot more expensive, but their rent won’t go down very much or any at all.

  5. […] Comments bkingr on wow! bye bye Debracharissa on wow! bye bye Debrabkingr on wow! bye bye Debracharissa on wow! bye […]

Leave a comment